LONG STAY DISCOUNT   All stays of 7 nights or longer will have a 10% discount applied to them - over a week you could save up to £65.  Book online or call us on 01677 450558.

Special Offers

Guest Reviews

"We stayed for three nights over one of the coldest weekends this year but the welcome and hospitality received were Mediterranean hot! Everything about Elmfield House was brilliant - a lovely, spotlessly clean room, great bathroom and the most comfortable bed ever. Lovely furnishings, plenty of storage space and everything you needed by way of tea/coffee and toiletries. There was a superb breakfast choice, all cooked fresh to order, delicious, which was served in a conservatory overlooking the gardens and fields, warmed on such cold days by a fantastic log burner. Kirsty, the owner, has got to be the nicest person you could ever wish to meet. So welcoming and caring. Her home baked cakes were delicious and these were left out for us each evening. Concerned at the length of our journey, she even packed us some cake to bring home with us, along with bottled waters and anti-freeze for the car water bottle. How many hoteliers would be so concerned with their guests on departure, none that I know of that's for sure? She also has a good selection of wools and woollen goods for sale, all made from her sheep, and hosts afternoon teas three or four days a week - well worth a visit to sample those beautiful cakes. As you have already guessed, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would hope that you, too, will one day stay and have the same experience as we did, which, in a word, was EXCELLENT. We shall definitely return. Thank you Kirsty for ensuring a wonderful stay." December 2017 

"It was a delight, but not a surprise, to find that the first class standards of Elmfield House have continued since the last visit. The warmth of the welcome and attention to detail from Kirstie and Luke, extremely comfortable room and splendid breakfasts made the trip a memorable sojourn into rural Yorkshire. The display of such high quality local handcrafted products was a very nice touch, and added to the experience. All in all, there are many reasons to return." November 2017

"Stayed for 5 days and each afternoon upon our return we were greeted with tea/coffee and lovely homemade cakes by our delightful host Kristy. Her dinner recommendations were superb. We had a lovely stay and we already look forward to returning. The location is fabulous. Close to all sorts of destinations, great walks, and the surrounding abbeys. Breakfast was superb. A large choice and beautifully presented." October 2017

"We booked this rather last minute for a christening in the nearby village of Hornby. The house is set in a wonderful location with views of all the sheep! No complaints about the room, everything was there what we needed. Breakfast was great and we would definitely recommend to other guests!" September 2017

"Arrived in the afternoon and were greeted by Kirsty with the most lovely cakes and a cup of tea. Rooms both had lovely views and were very comfortable and clean. My daughter chose the four poster room and I could not say no since it was her birthday treat. Had a nice afternoon looking round Richmond which is just up the road. We thought we would have a problem getting out for a meal with taxis but it was no trouble. Kirsty ordered one for us and booked the meal for us. Breakfast was delicious. Will definitely visit again. Thank you Kirsty for a lovely weekend." August 2017

"What more can be said other reviewers have hit the nail on the head. A lovely place with thoughtful and kindly hosts. We both enjoyed our stay and would recommend to any other travellers.Lovely large room with bath and shower. View over the pony paddock complete with pony. Excellent breakfast with home made bread and jams. Not to mention the cake - we even had two pieces for the journey home." July 2017

"We arrived soaking wet having cycled for three hours from Sedbergh in the pouring rain. We'd set off from Ravenglass in Cumbria the day before with an overnight in Sedbergh. The warmth of the welcome was fantastic. The room was lovely, the shower great and the tea and cake superb. Thanks so much Kirsty for your really kind hospitality and for being totally un-phased at having to sort out two soaking wet cyclists......" June 2017

"We stayed for a night as a family of four (1 yr old & 3 yr old) and had the most wonderful stay. From meeting the lambs on our arrival to the beautiful room we stayed in, Kirsty and Luke couldn't have done more to make us feel welcome. There was a small bed and a cot made up with everything we might need for the girls, a wonderfully comfortable bed for us, a lovely big bathroom with plenty of towels, homemade biscuits and cake, and a hearty breakfast the next morning followed by a walk in the woods. We recommend Elmfield House to anyone as it's a beautiful place to visit and stay, and especially good if you have little people to entertain!" April 2017

"We've stayed at Elmfield 3 times now (so far!) and each time it's been wonderful! Lovely rooms with gorgeous views, big bathrooms and super comfy beds. The hosts (including their 9 year old son!) could not be more friendly and welcoming, and can always offer advice for daytime activities and places to eat in the area. Huge choice for breakfast and nothing is ever too much trouble - the last time we stayed we weren't sure if our two year old would be best in a cot or bed so both were set up for our arrival - thank you Kirsty and Luke for always going that extra mile for us when we visit. We can't wait to come back!" February 2017

"First visit to Yorkshire as a family, one night only, to visit friends in nearby Patrick Brompton. We chose Elmfield house after an internet search and after a quick email exchange with Kirsty, the owner. As we have a young family we were after a family room. Kirsty advised us this would not be a problem as they could set up a couple of extra beds in one of their larger rooms. Upon arrival, we were warmly greeted by Kirsty and offered that Yorkshire staple - tea! The children were given hot chocolate and we were shown to our room. Kirsty was very helpful and extremely friendly. She told us that we were welcome to walk around the woods on the property and explored the lake. The children loved it, especially when we were followed by some friendly sheep! After the walk, more tea and hot chocolate was offered, along with homemade biscuits and cake. All were delicious. Kirsty's husband and son also made an appearance, lugging the goodies up to our room. You couldn't ask for a nicer bunch of people to run a B&B. After returning from a quiet night with friends we slept well on the very comfortable beds, having chosen from an extensive menu, for breakfast. After a great shower, we headed downstairs for a feast of a breakfast. Plentiful cereal, toast, pancakes for the children and cooked breakfast for the adults. Before leaving Kirsty gave us some very good ideas on what we could do in the local area before heading off home. All in all, a very enjoyable stay and would definitely return." January 2017

"Definitely worth checking out if you wish to stay in the area and are looking for a comfortable B & B. Though the weather was cold, we were pleased the rooms were nice and warm, as indeed was the welcome! Nothing was too much trouble to ensure we had a comfortable stay. The breakfasts were excellent." November 2016

"We found it rather hard to find but once found Wow! Great place to stay once we had freshened up we went downstairs to tea cake and cheese. How wonderful. Our hostess booked us into a restaurant that evening for our supper and breakfast next morning was wonderful. Home made bread from locally milled flour, home made jams etc etc. My room was luxurious with a four poster bed!!!!!! I would recommend this to all travellers it was a great place to stay and would certainly stay there again. Well done Kirsty and thank you." October 2016

"We were very pleased to find this B&B at short notice. A great welcome with tea and cake and the Lilac Room's super-kingsize bed was so comfortable after a day's walking. Kirsty is an excellent host - generous both with her home baking and her time and knowledge and experience of the locality. Although a bit remote, there are several good places to eat within about 3 miles and it's a good base for exploring North Yorkshire and the Dales." September 2016

"Excellent food and accommodation in a peaceful country atmosphere. Very welcoming, helpful and friendly hosts - nothing too much trouble. We've booked for another couple of visits, which says it all!" August 2016

"One of our best ever Bed and Breakfast experiences occured this July. Beautiful scenery in pastoral Yorkshire , most comfortable accommodations , a great nights sleep, and best breakfast to start off a day touring in this beautiful part of the country. Our hostess-Kirsty deserves credit for our great visit. From having the facilities spotless and so clean, to serving her homemade breads and desserts and fruit picked in her own backyard- she made us feel special and welcome and very pampered. She suggested areas of interest to see in our locale, and gave great tips on fine restaurants- all were spot on and made our trip even more enjoyable. An unforgettable experience with a lady we shall not forget and give cudos to her- she definitely loves what she does." July 2016

"We have just spent a short break at Elmfield House with our walking group. Kirsty made us all so welcome with tea and homemade cakes on our arrival, and again the next day. The bedrooms were very well appointed and had all we needed, We had the Field room but all our friends said how good their rooms were and the beds very comfortable. The whole ambience of the house made you feel at home and as a large group we were able to use the conservatory to continue enjoying ourselves after going out in the evenings. The breakfasts would satisfy even the largest appetite and were freshly cooked to order. An added attraction was a lovely walk through their wood to the lake and seeing the barn owl fly close by one evening. Keep up the good work Kirsty and Luke - we will be back." June 2016 

 

"What a fabulous place! The guest house is in a perfect country setting; the rooms are beautiful, clean and comfortable; and Kirsty and Luke - the hosts - are as attentive and friendly as you could possibly get! That is all before you even get to the breakfasts, which include home made jams, marmalade and bread and the least greasy full English breakfast I have ever had! We had homemade cakes and tea waiting for us on arrival and made to feel very welcome. Letting my family and our friends who were also staying make use of the large conservatory with a log burner until late. It also has its own sheep and lambs at the moment as well as acres of fields and woods to explore. It is a great location for Bedale, Masham, Richmond and Leyburn all within 20 mins drive or so. Kirsty found us a nice walk around Masham and Hackfall Forest which she printed off for us and I would thoroughly recommend. Idyllic setting and we will be back! Thank you!" May 2016

"It was a short stay, but memorable for all the right reasons. Such a peaceful location, with its own woodland, yet close to so many of the scenic delights of Yorkshire. The room was very comfortable and spacious, and, most important of all, there was a warm welcome and superb, friendly service from Kirsty and Luke. My compliments to the chef at breakfast with the freshly baked bread and all local ingredients. There are so many reasons to return, I will......" April 2016

"We went for the Easter weekend break to Bedale. From the off, Kirsty was welcoming, thoughtful and always willing to do things to make our stay more comfortable, ably assisted by Jack & Luke. She made cakes for us to have in the afternoon, offered advice on where to go and eat and the breakfasts were excellent. Our 14 month old baby loved playing in the conservatory and was given her own special breakfast of bacon and sausage. Rooms were nice and spacious and we had a nice walk in the woodland near to the house. Will definitely go back when we visit North Yorks again." March 2016

"This was a return visit prompted by a need for cat collection from a nearby friend!Nice weather and we finally got to see around the area in dry daylight!Elmfield House - and Kirsty and family - were every bit as good as we remembered.Great breakfast and hospitality (and cakes)!Comfortable and quiet bedroom - and a convenient wine fridge!!Great time - sadly we were only there for a night!" February 2016

"I recently stayed at Elmfield House whilst visiting the local area on business. With work having already booked the accommodation for me, I read the trip advisor reviews, browsed the photo's and surveyed the surrounding area to plan ahead for a 7 day stay.I was greeted by Kirsty on arrival who was very welcoming and friendly. She gave me some great recommendations on local places to eat and even found me the timings and website of the local cinema in Richmond (an old converted train station) so I could catch the new Star Wars movie!I was accommodated in the 'Autumn' room which had a very comfy king size bed and stunning en-suite bathroom. The drinks tray was always freshly stocked up with teas and coffee and I looked forward coming in to enjoy freshly baked biscuits (Kirtsy's Anzac biscuits are delicious)With me staying there for 7 days I decided to try and eat healthy, especially just after the Christmas period, but I couldn't resist trying their Yorkshire breakfast that I'd read so much about. It certainly didn't disappoint. Freshly brewed coffee, fruit salad and wonderful home made yogurt were also served up. Having home made cakes waiting for me when I had finished work were a lovely touch. (So much for eating healthy!)I was made to feel very welcome by Kirsty, Luke and their son Jack. (a fellow Star Wars fan)"January 2016

 

"There was nothing not to like. We had a warm, friendly greeting on what was a cold, dark, wet and windy night. Tea and cake on arrival was such a welcome treat and our room was spacious, extremely clean and warm. The bed was exceptionally comfortable and the bathroom pristine. An excellent, freshly cooked, hearty breakfast." December 2015